Ivakkak 2021 was officially opened last night!

The participants gathered to draw their team numbers which will coincide with their starting positions tomorrow. Due to poor weather conditions over the weekend key cargo and supplies were unable to make it into Salluit, as a result, the decision was made to postpone the departure of the racers to tomorrow.

Starting at 10 am tomorrow morning, the teams will start their journey towards Ivujivik. This portion of the race will have a lot of variations in terrain with large hills to traverse, as a result, we expect this leg of the race will take 3 days to complete.

Here are the official team numbers, and the order that the teams will depart in tomorrow.

Team Number Musher Partner Community
1 Johnny May Jr. Ahuya Snowball May Kuujjuaq
2 Aisa Surusilak Paulusi Amarualik Puvirnituq
3 Matthew Arngak Padlayat Kaitak Kangiqsujuaq
4 Aibilie Qumaluk Jason Sallualuk Puvirnituq
5 Edua Lucassie Derek Taqulik Kangirsuk
6 Paulusie Jason Irnik Jamie Kiatainaq Kangiqsujuaq
7 Sandy Jaaka Timothy Shea Kangiqsujuaq
8 Alec Aupaluk Tivii Kulula Kangiqsujuaq
9 Willie cain Jr. Charlie Angnatuk Tasiujaq
10 Kulu Tukalak Juani Cruishank Puvirnituq
11 Jani-Marik Beaulne Jackusi Amamatuak Puvirnituq
12 George Kaukai Johnny York-kritik Kuujjuaq
Ivakkak 2021 was officially opened last night!

Comments (0)

Leave a Reply